Posted by: John Looker | 29 June, 2014

Listen Up Pandora

.
Listen Up Pandora
.

Let me out, Pandora, let me out!
Okay, so all the troubles of the world
with a gleeful shout
have broken loose and claimed the street,
but listen Pandora (and come on out
from behind this box, I can hear you snivelling)
just check me out:
I have wings! I have feet that can dance!
I drive a fast car, play cards like a pro,
I’m your pal, Pandora, let me out!

.
© John Stevens 2014

Just a bit of nonsense that started life as a contribution to a family game.

To read more about the ancient Greek myth of Pandora’s Box and Hope, try:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandora%27s_box
or better still:
http://ancienthistory.about.com/od/grecoromanmyth1/a/050410Pandora_and_her_box_or_pithos.htm

Responses

  1. I hope she lets you out! 🙂

    Like

  2. You know I love riffs on mythic scenes, and this one is great fun, like a teaser on a book, actually. I want to read more, John!

    Like

    • Ah thanks Elaine … try Cynthia Jobin’s instalment below!

      Like

  3. Oh dear Elpis,
    It’s no use.
    I’m already in too much trouble.
    I would spare you from harsh reality.
    Otherwise, your wings might melt (like Icky’s),
    Your fast car could crash into a kyparissos,
    You certainly will eventually lose your chiton at cards.
    Stay right where you are:
    Cherished for your perfect possibility.
    Thousands of years from now
    You will still live, in a poem by a lady named Emily:
    “Hope is the thing with feathers–
    That perches in the soul–
    And sings the tune without the words
    And never stops –at all.”

    Your pal, (sniff, sniff)
    Pandora

    Like

    • Aw come on Pal – gimme a break –
      These woes have too much clout –
      And I don’t like the sound – of this Emily chick –
      Do you think she ever went out?

      Like

      • Her life stood–a loaded gun–
        The “falling sickness”, and a gift for poetry–
        Dangerous in a woman of her time–
        She kept to her own soul’s society.

        Like

        • I’d better drop the comic mask of my imagined character, Hope. ED deserves better, doesn’t she, and you pay her a proper tribute Cynthia.

          Like

          • I love this, John. It’s the fun of blogging. And you’re right about E.D. I was prepared to tell Elpis who would be, by now, understandably, hitting the juice, that all of this, in the end, is the fault of Zeus!

            Like

  4. ……….
    of her is the deadly race and tribe of women who
    live amongst mortal men to their great trouble…… 😉

    An invention by men ?

    Like

  5. I must say reading the exchange between yourself and Cynthia provided me with as much optimism for the future as the wonderful poem that spawned it, John. Thank you, both.

    Like

  6. This was a delightful poem. It seems to me there are two “evils” that need to come out, one from inside and one from outside the box. I enjoyed this very much.

    Like

  7. IS there an assumption that Pandora is a woman?

    Like

    • Good point. Not in my verse I hope although I suppose traditionally Pandora, like Eve, was cast in the role of scapegoat.

      Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

